DME MAC Councils

The DME Medicare Administrative Contractors (MACs) are insurance carriers contracted by CMS to process claims for DMEPOS in each of four regions:

Jurisdiction A: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Jurisdiction B: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin

Jurisdiction C: Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia

Jurisdiction D: Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming

All of the MACs are required to have provider outreach and education advisory groups that seek provider input into communication and educational activities. While the MACs use various mechanisms to gather input, three of them have councils that they meet with on a quarterly basis to provide a forum for interaction and discussion. Each council is structured differently. However, their goals are the same: Work with the DME MACs on education and operational issues that affect the homecare community.

AAHomecare participates on each of the councils to help facilitate communication across the jurisdictions, and to discuss issues that may require CMS assistance.

More Information

Jurisdiction B Council

Jurisdiction C Council

Jurisdiction D Council