Skip to Content
Close Icon

Industry Honors Excellence - Van Miller Homecare Champion Award

Since 2011, the industry has recognized and honored an AAHomecare member for outstanding service to the HME community. This prominent award was renamed in 2016 to reflect the characteristics of an HME visionary, Van G. Miller, past CEO and founder of the VGM Group, as well as a previous Homecare Champion.  

Characteristics considered for a Homecare Champion include an AAHomecare member who has made an exceptional contribution to the homecare sector throughout their career in one or more of the following ways: 

  • Longstanding record of service within the homecare community;
  • Embodiment of the spirit of caring and generosity which are the hallmarks of this profession;
  • Active membership and engagement in the American Association for Homecare.


Yuricich Honored as Homecare Champion
HME association leader Kam Yuricich was recognized as the 2023 Van Miller Homecare Champion at the 2023 Medtrade show in Dallas.  Yuricich was honored for her outstanding achievements as the Executive Director for two significant HME organizations, the Ohio Association of Medical Equipment Services and the Great Lakes Home Medical Services Association (Indiana, Illinois, and Michigan).

Delivering for Her Members: Yuricich has been an effective advocate for HME suppliers on major issues. Her efforts to build relationships with state legislators and regulators were critical in securing relief for suppliers in Ohio and Indiana through American Rescue Plan Act funds. She has led efforts to derail proposed Medicaid reimbursement cuts and has ensured HME has a seat at the table on state policy initiatives affecting our industry.

Serving the HME Sector: Yuricich’s impact is felt beyond her associations’ footprint.  She uncovered discrepancies in bid winners in Ohio in the initial competitive bidding results that helped lead to a pause of the program nationwide for additional review.  Yuricich has also served as Chair of the State Leaders Council and is known for her willingness to share her experience and encouragement in support of her state association executive peers.

“Kam is a star and a stalwart for HME,” notes Tom Ryan, AAHomecare president & CEO. “She’s brought home bottom-line wins for her members and she’s also made important contributions that resonate across the industry.  Kam’s earned a lot of respect in the HME community, and I’m excited that we are formally recognizing her success and service to this industry.”:

Past Recipients of the Van Miller Homecare Champion Award

The following members of the HME Community have made incredible contributions to the industry, we are proud to recognize their service throughout the years:

  • Jim Walsh (2022)
  • Stephen Ackerman (2021)
  • Karyn Estrella (2019)
  • Regina Gillespie (2018)
  • Gary Sheehan (2017)
  • Missy Cross (2016)
  • Joey Tart and Billy Tart (2015)
  • Cara Bachenheimer and Joel Mills (2014)
  • Scott Meuser and Shelly Prial (2013)
  • Alan Landauer and Van Miller (2012)
  • Joseph Lewarski and Tom Ryan (2011)